Why does Vista require the worlds most powerful graphics cards?

Vista has been out a while now and we’ve all seen the ads and I’m sure some of us have had a WOW moment along the line somewhere. Mine was when I looked at the price tag ;0)

It seems with every new OS microsoft brings out there is a hardware price tag to be paid sometimes we benefit from it sometimes it’s just a burden. Vista as we know, requires a pretty powerful GFX card and ideally 512 meg or ram or more on that card. This article on arstechnica.com goes a long way to explaining why its important and just how different Vista is to windows XP in respect to the visual elements.

It’s a long but fascinating read, resonably technical but enlightening.

I think it’s worth the time to read through, at the very least you’ll get a bit more understanding of the excitement Microsoft developers and evangelists have been radiating in the build up to Vista.

As I’ve said before, I’m going to give it a couple more months and then when I upgrade my hardware I’ll likely go Vista. Soon as I can I’ll be looking to get a copy of the 64 bit release onto my laptop again.

Leave a Reply

