Fixing the Wireless card on HP DV5157 running Ubuntu

As mentioned in previous posts I was having a lot of trouble gettsudo apt-get install bcm43xx-fwcuttering the built in wireless card to work on my HP laptop.
ubuntu had correctly identified the Wireless device and had attempted to intsall the correct driver but something wasn’t quite right as i couldn’t connect to any wireless points.

I had tried using the ndiswrapper to fix this on earlier installations but this just got me a wireless connection that wouldn’t resolve despite passing the correct security details.

Please note before continuing: these instructions are passed on solely to demonstrate what worked for me on my hardware. I can’t guarantee that these instructions will work for you, nor do I guarantee that this is the best way to do it.
Your mileage may vary.
Please back up ALL important data before you attempt to do anything that might corrupt your installation or dammage your hardware.
You follow these instructions entirely at your own risk.

OK that said, this is what I did to get my Wireless networking working on Ubuntu Feisty (7.04) on a DV5157eu HP Pavilion Laptop)

This is all done via a terminal session.
1. check which eth device is your wireless card (eth0 is usually your wired connection) ifconfig -a will list all known devices
2. type (without quotes): ‘sudo apt-get install bcm43xx-fwcutter’ – this will download the firmware for the broadcom bcm43xx wireless device
3. type (without quotes): ‘sudo modprobe bcm43xx’ – this applies the firmware
4. type (without quotes): ‘iwconfig’ – Configures the wireless interface.
5. type (without quotes): ‘sudo iwlist eth1 scan’ – eth1 is the eth port my wireless card was on make sure you pick the correct port for you.

I then exited the terminal and unplugged my wired connection. You could try rebooting at this point, I was busy looking through the network dialogs to try and nudge the wireless scan when I noticed the network Icon had changed and a dialog popped up asking me for my password. I input my security details and bingo I was connected to my wireless router.

You may also get a dialog asking you for the keyring password if you have the keyring installed and managing your passwords for you.

I hope this helps.

Comments are closed.